The Fallen by David Baldacci by Pan Macmillan Audio

https://ift.tt/2HIbtQm

Listen to an excerpt from The Fallen by David Baldacci, read by Kyf Brewer and Orlagh Cassidy.

Amos Decker, David Baldacci’s unique special agent with the gift of a remarkable memory, returns in The Fallen.

Small towns which have seen better times are not unusual. But the mysterious events in Baronville, Pennsylvania, are raising the highly-tuned antennae of agent Amos Decker and his FBI partner, Alex Jamison. What was supposed to be a relaxing vacation turns into a murder investigation when two bodies are found in a nearby deserted house.

With the body count rising, Decker and Jamison dig deep to uncover a sinister truth in Baronville, which could be the canary in the coalmine for the rest of the country.

But even the duo’s skills and Amos Decker’s infallible memory may not be enough to save this town, or them, from becoming the next victims.

https://ift.tt/2EX2Fmy

https://ift.tt/2HKxYnI
via IFTTT

Advertisements

The Pit-Prop Syndicate, By Freeman Wills Crofts, Read by Hugh Kermode by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2G6A00C

From the Collins Crime Club archive, the third standalone novel by Freeman Wills Crofts, dubbed ‘The King of Detective Story Writers’.

——————————————————————————–

Seymour Merriman’s holiday in France comes to an abrupt halt when his motorcycle starts leaking petrol. Following a lorry to find fuel, he discovers that it belongs to an English company making timber pit-props for coal mines back home. His suspicions of illegal activity are aroused when he sees the exact same lorry with a different number plate – and confirmed later with the shocking discovery of a body. What began as amateur detective work ends up as a job for Inspector Willis of Scotland Yard, a job requiring tenacity, ingenuity and guile . . .

Freeman Wills Crofts’ transition from civil engineer on the Irish railways to world-renowned master of the detective mystery began with The Cask when he was fully 40 years old; but it was his third novel, the baffling The Pit-Prop Syndicate, that was singled out by his editors in 1930 as the first for inclusion in Collins’ prestigious new series of reprints ‘for crime connoisseurs’.

This Detective Club classic is introduced by John Curran, author of The Hooded Gunman, and includes the bonus of an exclusive short story by Crofts, ‘Danger in Shroude Valley’.
via IFTTT

The Devil’s Dice, By Roz Watkins, Read by Caro Clarke by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2C2N9bP

‘A pacy, twisty read that had me on the edge of my seat…what a brilliant debut! ’KL Slater

A SHOCKING DEATH

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There’s just one catch – chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man’s initials, and it’s been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it’s clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg – and the dice are loaded…

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley

‘A fabulous book. I can’t wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again’ B A Paris

‘An outstanding debut. The Devil’s Dice had me gripped from the start’ Stephen Booth

‘A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can’t wait to see what Watkins does next!’ Angela Clarke

‘The Devil’s Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot.’ Sarah Ward

‘Brilliant. I love Meg!’ Lisa Hall

‘Smart, atmospheric detective story with an unexpected topical twist’ Adam Hamdy

‘Really enjoyed The Devil’s Dice – loved the supernatural feel and excellent resolution. What a copper!’ Mick Finlay

‘A humdinger of a debut – whip-smart and with a protagonist you’re guaranteed to want to get behind’ Mel McGrath

‘A smart, intelligent police procedural and a well-crafted mystery set against a beautiful backdrop. Compelling reading.’ Jane Isaac
via IFTTT