A Life to Kill by Matthew Hall by Pan Macmillan Audio

http://ift.tt/2tpJxti

Listen to an extract from A Life to Kill by Matthew Hall, read by Sian Thomas.

From the bestselling author of the Coroner Jenny Cooper series comes A Life to Kill, Matthew Hall’s most gripping, moving and timely thriller to date.

If they’re hiding something, we’ve got a right to know. We’ve got a right to know what Kenny died for . . .

The day they’ve all been waiting for is at hand. The last British combat soldiers in Helmand are counting the minutes until their departure for home. For their excited families in Highcliffe, it spells the end of an agonizing six month wait.

But in the final hours, disaster strikes. Nineteen-year-old Private Pete ‘Skippy’ Lyons is abducted and the patrol sent out to locate him is ambushed. One killed, two injured. One still missing in action . . .

Their loved ones are left desperate for answers the Army won’t provide. How could Private Lyons have been snatched from a heavily fortified command post? And why are officers trying to disguise what happened during the mission to save him?

Their only hope lies with Coroner Jenny Cooper, who must take on the full might of the military to stop the truth being buried along with the boy soldiers. But in a town filled with secrets and rumours, it’s not only the Army that has something to hide.

A Life to Kill is the seventh installment in the Coroner Jenny Cooper series.

http://ift.tt/2sH5XJz

http://ift.tt/2tqcYvq
via IFTTT

Advertisements

What We Lose, By Zinzi Clemmons, Read by Nicole Lewis by HarperAudio

http://ift.tt/2tpEWpQ

A short, intense and profoundly moving debut novel about race, identity, sex and death

Thandi is American, but not as American as some of her friends. She is South African, but South Africa terrifies her. She is a black woman with light skin.

Her mother is dying.

In exquisite vignettes of wry warmth and extraordinary emotional power, What We Lose tells Thandi’s story. Both raw and artful, minimal yet rich, it is an intimate portrait of love and loss, and a fierce meditation on race, sex, identity, and staying alive.
via IFTTT

What We Lose, By Zinzi Clemmons, Read by Nicole Lewis by HarperAudio

http://ift.tt/2tpEWpQ

A short, intense and profoundly moving debut novel about race, identity, sex and death

Thandi is American, but not as American as some of her friends. She is South African, but South Africa terrifies her. She is a black woman with light skin.

Her mother is dying.

In exquisite vignettes of wry warmth and extraordinary emotional power, What We Lose tells Thandi’s story. Both raw and artful, minimal yet rich, it is an intimate portrait of love and loss, and a fierce meditation on race, sex, identity, and staying alive.
via IFTTT

The Woman Who Met Her Match, by Fiona Gibson, Read by Emma Gregory by HarperAudio

http://ift.tt/2njSNKR

After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she’s got a good job, wonderful children and she’s happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her – after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can’t exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart . . . can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolouri and Milly Johnson.
via IFTTT

Watch Me (Clip #2), by Angela Clarke, Read by Imogen Wilde by HarperAudio

http://ift.tt/2jBC7Op

‘Smart, snappy and addictive: Angela Clarke is #killingit’ Holly Williams, INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

You have six seconds to view this suicide note, and twenty-four hours to save the girl’s life.

The brand new novel from rising star Angela Clark, and the second in her chilling and provocative Social Media Murders series. Feisty young journalist Freddie Venton and ambitious police officer Nasreen Cudmore are up against a depraved killer who takes pleasure in taunting them online.
via IFTTT

Watch Me (Clip #2), by Angela Clarke, Read by Imogen Wilde by HarperAudio

http://ift.tt/2jBC7Op

‘Smart, snappy and addictive: Angela Clarke is #killingit’ Holly Williams, INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

You have six seconds to view this suicide note, and twenty-four hours to save the girl’s life.

The brand new novel from rising star Angela Clark, and the second in her chilling and provocative Social Media Murders series. Feisty young journalist Freddie Venton and ambitious police officer Nasreen Cudmore are up against a depraved killer who takes pleasure in taunting them online.
via IFTTT

Watch Me (Clip #2), by Angela Clarke, Read by Imogen Wilde by HarperAudio

http://ift.tt/2jBC7Op

‘Smart, snappy and addictive: Angela Clarke is #killingit’ Holly Williams, INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

You have six seconds to view this suicide note, and twenty-four hours to save the girl’s life.

The brand new novel from rising star Angela Clark, and the second in her chilling and provocative Social Media Murders series. Feisty young journalist Freddie Venton and ambitious police officer Nasreen Cudmore are up against a depraved killer who takes pleasure in taunting them online.
via IFTTT