The Friend by Dorothy Koomson (Audiobook extract) by Dead Good Audio

http://ift.tt/2BJ8ypp

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Friend by Dorothy Koomson, read by Jennifer Saayeng, Angela Griffin, Christina Cole, Shelley Conn, Susy Kane and Sam Dillon.

What secrets would you kill to keep?

After her husband’s big promotion, Cece Solarin arrives in Brighton with their three children, ready to start afresh. But their new neighbourhood has a deadly secret.

Three weeks earlier, Yvonne, a very popular parent, was almost murdered in the grounds of the local school – the same school where Cece has unwittingly enrolled her children.

Already anxious about making friends when the parents seem so cliquey, Cece is now also worried about her children’s safety. By chance she meets Maxie, Anaya and Hazel, three very different school mothers who make her feel welcome and reassure her about her new life.

That is until Cece discovers the police believe one of her new friends tried to kill Yvonne. Reluctant to spy on her friends but determined to discover the truth, Cece must uncover the potential murderer before they strike again . . .

From the bestselling author of That Girl from Nowhere and When I Was Invisible comes a thrilling new novel that will have you questioning the line between right and wrong.
via IFTTT

Advertisements

The Echo Killing, By Christi Daugherty, Read by Jane Perry by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2ohUwnf

The most exciting new crime voice you’ll read this year!

Fifteen years ago her mother’s killer got away. Has he finally struck again?

MURDER SHOCKS PEACEFUL NEIGHBOURHOOD

A woman in her thirties. Found naked and stabbed on the kitchen floor. Discovered by her twelve-year-old daughter after school.

As top Savannah crime reporter Harper McClain stares at the horrific scene before her, one thought screams through her mind. This murder is identical to another murder she has witnessed. Her mother’s murder…

For fifteen years, Harper has been torn apart by the knowledge that her mother’s killer is walking free. And now, it seems he’s struck again. There are no fingerprints. No footprints. No DNA. Yet still, Harper is determined to discover the truth once and for all.

But that search will come at a cost…and it could be one she isn’t ready to pay.
via IFTTT

The Mother’s Secret by Clare Swatman by Pan Macmillan Audio

http://ift.tt/2EDdg6I

Listen to an excerpt from The Mother’s Seret by Clare Swatman, read by Anna Acton.

The Mother’s Secret is a powerful story about family, secrets and devastating lies

Love keeps us together

Sisters Kate and Georgie have always shared a close bond. While Kate enjoyed the freedoms of youth, Georgie remained at home. But now Georgie is grown up, it’s time she started exploring.

Love can tear us apart

Their mother Jan loves her daughters with all her heart. So what if she kept them out of sight when they were young? She just cared for them so much. She wanted to protect them.

What if your life was based on a lie?

Maybe there was another reason for Jan’s protective behaviour? If they ventured too far afield, it might destroy the facade of their childhood. This family’s about to discover that while lies can cause pain, the truth could destroy them all.

http://ift.tt/2Feeh6t
via IFTTT

The Devil’s Dice, By Roz Watkins, Read by Caro Clarke by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2C2N9bP

‘A pacy, twisty read that had me on the edge of my seat…what a brilliant debut! ’KL Slater

A SHOCKING DEATH

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There’s just one catch – chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man’s initials, and it’s been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it’s clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg – and the dice are loaded…

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley

‘A fabulous book. I can’t wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again’ B A Paris

‘An outstanding debut. The Devil’s Dice had me gripped from the start’ Stephen Booth

‘A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can’t wait to see what Watkins does next!’ Angela Clarke

‘The Devil’s Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot.’ Sarah Ward

‘Brilliant. I love Meg!’ Lisa Hall

‘Smart, atmospheric detective story with an unexpected topical twist’ Adam Hamdy

‘Really enjoyed The Devil’s Dice – loved the supernatural feel and excellent resolution. What a copper!’ Mick Finlay

‘A humdinger of a debut – whip-smart and with a protagonist you’re guaranteed to want to get behind’ Mel McGrath

‘A smart, intelligent police procedural and a well-crafted mystery set against a beautiful backdrop. Compelling reading.’ Jane Isaac
via IFTTT

Death At Breakfast, By John Rhode, Read by Gordon Griffin by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2HflTpM

A classic winter’s crime novel by one of the most highly regarded exponents of the genre.

Victor Harleston awoke with uncharacteristic optimism. Today he would be rich at last. Half an hour later, he gulped down his breakfast coffee and pitched to the floor, gasping and twitching. When the doctor arrived, he recognised instantly that it was a fatal case of poisoning and called in Scotland Yard.

Despite an almost complete absence of clues, the circumstances were so suspicious that Inspector Hanslet soon referred the evidence to his friend and mentor, Dr Lancelot Priestley, whose deductions revealed a diabolically ingenious murder that would require equally fiendish ingenuity to solve.
via IFTTT

House of Beauty, By Melba Escobar, Read by Rachel Bavidge and Clare Perkins by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2Gfiztx

A thought-provoking Colombian crime novel set in and around a beauty salon in Bogota

House of Beauty is a high-end salon in Bogotá’s exclusive Zona Rosa area, and Karen is one of its best beauticians. But there is more to her role than the best way to apply wax, or how to give the perfect massage. Her clients confide in her, and she knows all about them. Their breast implants, their weekends in Miami, their divorces and affairs.

Karen has problems of her own. She’s in trouble, and she needs money. More money than she can make at House of Beauty.

Most serious of all: a teenage girl has been found dead, and Karen was one of the last people to see her alive. So the girl’s mother is desperate to talk to her …
via IFTTT

Bring Me Back, By B A Paris, Read by Kevin Hely and Cathleen McCarron by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2CoenoY

The million-copy bestselling author returns with a breathtaking thriller – available to pre-order now
‘We’re in a new Golden Age of suspense writing now, because of amazing books like Bring Me Back, and I for one am loving it’ Lee Child

The Disappearance
Twelve years ago Finn’s girlfriend disappeared.

The Suspicion
He told the police the truth about that night.
Just not quite the whole truth.

The Fear
Now Finn has moved on.
But his past won’t stay buried…

‘An addictive new voice in suspense fiction’ Sophie Hannah

‘Just finished this BRILLIANT book…Clever, addictive and twisty, I couldn’t sleep until I found out the truth…The twist floored me! Utterly compelling from beginning to end’ Claire Douglas

‘Made me stay up way beyond my bedtime! BA Paris has a knack for getting into your head.’ Jane Corry

‘A page-turning masterpiece’ Amanda Prowse

‘A tale of dark secrets, with mystery and intrigue building up and up to an ending with a fabulous twist. I devoured it – I couldn’t turn the pages quick enough.’ Mel Sherratt

‘This book is compulsive reading from start to finish. A perfectly crafted work of art, seamless and mesmerising. I envy those yet to read it for the pleasure they have in store.’ Amanda Robson

‘A cracking page turner with a killer twist.’ Camilla Way

‘An incredibly pacy, heart-pounding thriller – the twist at the end left me reeling. B A Paris does it again in this exhilarating exploration of love, jealousy and betrayal. A must read for 2018!’ Phoebe Morgan

‘Bring Me Back will not leave your hands until you have turned the last page!’ Wendy Walker

‘Bring Me Back is AWESOME. That final twist!’ Lisa Hall

‘Great read and OMG that ending’ Annabel Kantaria

‘Bring Me Back was utterly brilliant. Couldn’t put it down’ Roz Watkins

‘So dastardly – so devious – so good!’ Kaira Rouda

‘Kept me guessing to the end…Fabulous’ Vicky Newham

‘This dark deliciously twisty thriller will keep you guessing till the end.’ Mel McGrath
via IFTTT