BEST FOOT FORWARD written and read by Adam Hills – audiobook extract by Hodder Books

https://ift.tt/2JOl6MR

Award-winning comic Adam Hills narrates the audiobook edition of BEST FOOT FORWARD, out now.

Taking us from the early days of the Sydney Stand Up scene to hosting his own radio show, touring the world and eventually landing on British TV, Best Foot Forward is a story of a life in comedy. Along the way Adam shares some childhood tales, a few backstage blunders and encounters some fairly famous faces – the likes of Whoopi Goldberg, Billy Connolly, and that guy who sang The Macarena. Yes, him.
via IFTTT

Advertisements

Strangers on a Bridge: A gripping debut psychological thriller!, By Louise Mangos, Read by Issy Inchbald by HarperCollins Publishers

https://ift.tt/2IaW3CF

She should never have saved him.

When Alice Reed goes on her regular morning jog in the peaceful Swiss Alps, she doesn’t expect to save a man from suicide. But she does. And it is her first mistake.

Adamant they have an instant connection, Manfred’s charming exterior grows darker and his obsession with Alice grows stronger.

In a country far from home, where the police don’t believe her, the locals don’t trust her and even her husband questions the truth about Manfred, Alice has nowhere to turn.

To what lengths will Alice go to protect herself and her family?

Perfect for fans of I See You, Friend Request and Apple Tree Yard.
via IFTTT

The Secret War: Spies, Codes and Guerrillas 1939–1945, By Max Hastings, Read by Steven Crossley by HarperCollins Publishers

https://ift.tt/2K6dKZ2

‘As gripping as any spy thriller, Hastings’s achievement is especially impressive, for he has produced the best single volume yet written on the subject’ Sunday Times

‘Authoritative, exciting and notably well written’ Daily Telegraph

‘A serious work of rigourous and comprehensive history … royally entertaining and readable’ Mail on Sunday

In ‘The Secret War’, Max Hastings examines the espionage and intelligence machines of all sides in World War II, and the impact of spies, code-breakers and partisan operations on events. Written on a global scale, the book brings together accounts from British, American, German, Russian and Japanese sources to tell the story of a secret war waged unceasingly by men and women often far from the battlefields but whose actions profoundly influenced the outcome.

Returning to the Second World War for the first time since his best-selling ‘All Hell Let Loose’, Hastings weaves into a ‘big picture’ framework, the human stories of spies and intelligence officers who served their respective masters. Told through a series of snapshots of key moments, the book looks closely at Soviet espionage operations which dwarfed those of every other belligerent in scale, as well as the code-breaking operation at Bletchley Park – the greatest intelligence achievement of the conflict – with many more surprising and unfamiliar tales of treachery, deception, betrayal and incompetence by spies of Axis, Allied or indeterminate loyalty.
via IFTTT

Witchsign, By Den Patrick, Read by Thomas Judd by HarperCollins Publishers

https://ift.tt/2HSGDnu

From celebrated fantasy author Den Patrick comes WITCHSIGN, the first novel in a fresh and exciting new fantasy trilogy

It has been seventy-five years since the dragons’ rule of fire and magic was ended. Out of the ashes, the Solmindre Empire was born.

Since then, the tyrannical Synod has worked hard to banish all manifestations of the arcane from existence. However, children are still born bearing the taint of the arcane, known to all as witchsign. Vigilants are sent out across the continent of Vinterkveld to find and capture all those bearing the mark.

No one knows when the Vigilants of the Synod will appear and enforce the Empire’s laws.

But today they’re coming.

And gods help those who bear the sign of the witch.
via IFTTT

Things you’ll know if you’re a bookworm… with Lucy Mangan by Vintage Books UK

http://ift.tt/2oJMMKj

Alex Clark and Lucy Mangan discuss best-beloved books, their extraordinary creators, and looks at the thousand subtle ways they shape our lives.

Read more at http://ift.tt/2I028CX

Lucy’s top 4 children’s books for grown-ups http://ift.tt/2oKML8V

Read an extract from the book http://ift.tt/2HYrNvR

Follow us on twitter: twitter.com/vintagebooks

Sign up to our bookish newsletter to hear all about our new releases, see exclusive extracts and win prizes: po.st/vintagenewsletter
via IFTTT

Katinka’s Tail, By Judith Kerr, Read by Phyllida Law by HarperCollins Publishers

http://ift.tt/2BtqXEA

The brand new picture book from the beloved and iconic Judith Kerr.

This magical new book from the one and only Judith Kerr is brimming with her trademark warm humour and exquisitely imaginative artwork. Come on a wondrous journey with Katinka, a perfectly ordinary pussycat, with a not-quite-so-ordinary tail…

A classic-in-the-making from Judith Kerr OBE, recipient of the Booktrust Lifetime Acveivement Award and creator of the iconic Tiger Who Came to Tea and Mog the Forgetful Cat, this delightful story is the perfect gift for boys and girls of all ages.
via IFTTT