THE TENDER BAR by J. R. Moehringer, Read by Adam Grupper – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

https://ift.tt/2uLhpSv

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy’s Life and The Liar’s Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.’s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar–including J.R.’s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler–took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak–and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it’s also a moving portrait of one boy’s struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Available Now from Hachette Audio as a digital download and in Print and Ebook from Hyperion.

Download:
https://ift.tt/2uuYex8
https://ift.tt/2LqxJ29
https://ift.tt/2uzpoCJ
https://ift.tt/2A0baAj
https://ift.tt/2uAB884
https://ift.tt/2LuJdle
https://ift.tt/2uxZShs
https://ift.tt/2zQvrYD

Check out our other great titles and more at:
http://www.hachetteaudio.com

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
https://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
https://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

Advertisements

NO MATTER THE WRECKAGE LIVE by Sarah Kay, Author – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

https://ift.tt/2Lx0vhP

Following the success of her breakout poem, “B,” Sarah Kay releases the LIVE recording of her debut collection of poetry featuring work from the first decade of her career. This live recording of Sarah Kay’s reading of No Matter the Wreckage, at The Wild Project in NYC, presents listeners with the new and beloved poetry that showcases Kay’s talent for celebrating family, love, travel, and the unlikely romance between inanimate objects (“The Toothbrush to the Bicycle Tire”). Both fresh and wise, Kay’s poetry allows listeners to join her on the journey of discovering herself and the world around her. It is an honest and powerful collection.

Available July 24, 2018 from Hachette Audio as a digital download from Hachette Original.

Pre-order here:
https://ift.tt/2uvIYjm

Check out our other great titles and more at:
https://ift.tt/1Evch0I

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
https://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
https://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

NO MATTER THE WRECKAGE LIVE by Sarah Kay, Author – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

https://ift.tt/2Lx0vhP

Following the success of her breakout poem, “B,” Sarah Kay releases the LIVE recording of her debut collection of poetry featuring work from the first decade of her career. This live recording of Sarah Kay’s reading of No Matter the Wreckage, at The Wild Project in NYC, presents listeners with the new and beloved poetry that showcases Kay’s talent for celebrating family, love, travel, and the unlikely romance between inanimate objects (“The Toothbrush to the Bicycle Tire”). Both fresh and wise, Kay’s poetry allows listeners to join her on the journey of discovering herself and the world around her. It is an honest and powerful collection.

Available July 24, 2018 from Hachette Audio as a digital download from Hachette Original.

Pre-order here:
https://ift.tt/2uvIYjm

Check out our other great titles and more at:
https://ift.tt/1Evch0I

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
https://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
https://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

NO MATTER THE WRECKAGE LIVE by Sarah Kay, Author – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

https://ift.tt/2Lx0vhP

Following the success of her breakout poem, “B,” Sarah Kay releases the LIVE recording of her debut collection of poetry featuring work from the first decade of her career. This live recording of Sarah Kay’s reading of No Matter the Wreckage, at The Wild Project in NYC, presents listeners with the new and beloved poetry that showcases Kay’s talent for celebrating family, love, travel, and the unlikely romance between inanimate objects (“The Toothbrush to the Bicycle Tire”). Both fresh and wise, Kay’s poetry allows listeners to join her on the journey of discovering herself and the world around her. It is an honest and powerful collection.

Available July 24, 2018 from Hachette Audio as a digital download from Hachette Original.

Pre-order here:
https://ift.tt/2uvIYjm

Check out our other great titles and more at:
https://ift.tt/1Evch0I

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
https://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
https://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

The Entrepreneurs – Kestin Hare by M24: The Entrepreneurs

https://ift.tt/2LgoiFN

Edinburgh-based fashion designer Kestin Hare worked with a number of labels including Nigel Cabourn and Burberry before launching his eponymous label in 2014. The brand now has two shops, one in Shoreditch and one in the Leith area of the Scottish capital. Made in the UK, the styles are a nod to the working-class roots of his native Leith and are quickly changing the perception of Scottish design. Kestin’s wife Gemma worked with Harvey Nichols before taking over brand, marketing and strategy for her husband’s label.
via IFTTT

EVERY WORD IS A BIRD WE TEACH TO SING by Daniel Tammet Read by the Author – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

https://ift.tt/2zRq37J

A mind-expanding, deeply humane tour of language by the bestselling author of Born on a Blue Day and Thinking in Numbers.

Is vocabulary destiny? Why do clocks “talk” to the Nahua people of Mexico? Will A.I. researchers ever produce true human-machine dialogue? In this mesmerizing collection of essays, Daniel Tammet answers these and many other questions about the intricacy and profound power of language.

In Every Word Is a Bird We Teach to Sing, Tammet goes back in time to London to explore the numeric language of his autistic childhood; in Iceland, he learns why the name Blær became a court case; in Canada, he meets one of the world’s most accomplished lip readers. He chats with chatbots; contrives an “e”-less essay on lipograms; studies the grammar of the telephone; contemplates the significance of disappearing dialects; and corresponds with native Esperanto speakers – in their mother tongue.

A joyous romp through the world of words, letters, stories, and meanings, Every Word Is a Bird We Teach to Sing explores the way communication shapes reality. From the art of translation to the lyricism of sign language, these essays display the stunning range of Tammet’s literary and polyglot talents.

Available Now from Hachette Audio as a digital download and in Print and Ebook from Little, Brown & Company.

Download:
https://ift.tt/2uwWlQt
https://ift.tt/2zO6htZ
https://ift.tt/2uv6uNg
https://ift.tt/2LrhQIU
https://ift.tt/2uv6vki
https://ift.tt/2LxiV1B
https://ift.tt/2uv6wVo
https://ift.tt/2Lt1cbT

Check out our other great titles and more at:
http://www.hachetteaudio.com

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
https://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
https://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

UNSHAKEABLE TRUST by Joyce Meyer Read by Jodi Carlisle – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

https://ift.tt/2LugXPF

In her new book, New York Times bestselling author Joyce Meyer explores a life lived in complete and total dependence on God. Drawing on her own experiences and inspiration from the Word of God, Joyce makes the case that in every area of your life–spiritually, relationally, emotionally, financially–you can trust that God has your very best in store.

With each new chapter, Joyce unveils a sovereign and trustworthy God who longs to be in a relationship with his people, and inspires you to tear down the walls of self-reliance. This book will both equip and encourage, as you learn how to “trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”

Regardless of your past pain, your present circumstances, or your future uncertainty, when you learn to trust God each day, you’ll experience the joy-filled life Jesus came to give you. Others may have let you down . . . but God never will!

Available Now from Hachette Audio as a digital download and in Print and Ebook from Faith Words & J. Meyer Trade.

Download:
https://ift.tt/2Nudb9M
https://ift.tt/2O0OpiA
https://ift.tt/2NsmLdc
https://ift.tt/2O1BI6T
https://ift.tt/2Nudd1o
https://ift.tt/2O0OqTG
https://ift.tt/2Nude5s
https://ift.tt/2O0OrXK

Check out our other great titles and more at:
http://www.hachetteaudio.com

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
https://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
https://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT