If Not Us, Then Who by RSA Events

http://ift.tt/2EQI04A

Award-winning architect Alison Brooks speaks about architects’ duties to respond to the social, cultural and physical context in their work.

Pioneering architect Alison Brooks believes in the transformative social role of architecture, and has led new design thinking, in particular on housing and urban design. Committed to design responsive to people and place, Alison creates environments that are at the very heart of inclusive cities and communities.

This event was recorded live at The RSA on Thursday 22nd February 2018. Discover more about this event here: http://ift.tt/2Fnv9aR
via IFTTT

Advertisements

The Entrepreneurs – Eureka 86: Feldspar by M24: The Entrepreneurs

http://ift.tt/2EM9z2S

Jeremy Brown and his wife Cath left a vibrant life in London to move to the Devonshire countryside. There they launched Feldspar, a design brand that produces everything from tableware to lambswool blankets and is stocked in some of the best retailers in the country, including the Victoria & Albert Museum shop and Fortnum & Mason. Jeremy tells us how the countryside inspired their endeavour.
via IFTTT

James Cust on Oil Discoveries: Managing Expectations by IMF Podcasts

http://ift.tt/2ENP9qj

Major discoveries of oil and gas deposits have always been cause for celebration in developing countries, in anticipation of the potential financial windfalls. But research has shown that countries with abundant revenues from natural resources often tend to have less economic growth and more social problems than do non-resource-rich countries. And in this podcast, World Bank economist James Cust says in many cases, economic growth begins to underperform long before the first drop of oil is ever produced. Cust and David Mihalyi of the Natural Resource Governance Institute, coauthored The Presource Curse, published in the December 2017 edition of the IMF’s Finance and Development magazine. James Cust is an economist in the Office of the Chief Economist for Africa at the World Bank and an external research associate at the University of Oxford.
via IFTTT

TRUTH by Hector Macdonald Read by Robert Fass – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

http://ift.tt/2Fqo75m

“In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information.”–Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl Sandberg

For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which “competing truths” shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.

True or false? It’s rarely that simple.

There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it’s also damaging to the environment. When we communicate we naturally select the truths that are most helpful to our agenda.

We can select truths constructively to inspire organizations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill.

In Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. He shows how a clearer understanding of truth’s many faces renders us better able to navigate our world and more influential within it. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny, and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

——–

Available March 6, 2018 from Hachette Audio as a digital download, and in Print and Ebook from Little, Brown and Company.

Pre-order here:
http://ift.tt/2ENtgDb
http://ift.tt/2FqRlkr
http://ift.tt/2EKvbZh
http://ift.tt/2FpnLMc

Check out our other great titles and more at:
http://ift.tt/1Evch0I

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
http://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
http://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

A ROGUE OF HER OWN by Grace Burrowes Read by James Langton – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

http://ift.tt/2GAGwMb

New York Times bestselling series!

“Smart, sexy, and oh-so romantic.” -Mary Balogh

For Miss Charlotte Windham, the best way to maintain her spinsterhood-and her independence-is a teeny, tiny brush with scandal. She chooses wealthy, handsome upstart Lucas Sherbourne as her unwitting accomplice. He’s intelligent, logical, and ambitious. What Charlotte doesn’t count on is that one kiss will lead them straight to the altar.

Sherbourne has no love for polite society, nor is he keen on being anybody’s husband of last resort. He is attracted to Charlotte’s boldness, though-and her family’s influence. Without a title, he knows he’ll never truly be part of their world, even as he and Charlotte inch closer to a marriage that means much more than convenience. But a scheming business partner is about to test that tenuous trust, forcing Sherbourne to make a drastic choice: his wealth or his wife.

——–

Available March 6, 2018 from Hachette Audio as a digital download, and in Print and Ebook from Forever.

Pre-order here:
http://ift.tt/2HGiSzl

Check out our other great titles and more at:
http://ift.tt/1Evch0I

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
http://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
http://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT

ASK ME ABOUT MY UTERUS by Abby Norman Read by the Author – Audiobook Excerpt by HachetteAudio

http://ift.tt/2oni4XQ

For any woman who has experienced illness, chronic pain, or endometriosis comes an inspiring memoir advocating for recognition of women’s health issues
In the fall of 2010, Abby Norman’s strong dancer’s body dropped forty pounds and gray hairs began to sprout from her temples. She was repeatedly hospitalized in excruciating pain, but the doctors insisted it was a urinary tract infection and sent her home with antibiotics. Unable to get out of bed, much less attend class, Norman dropped out of college and embarked on what would become a years-long journey to discover what was wrong with her. It wasn’t until she took matters into her own hands–securing a job in a hospital and educating herself over lunchtime reading in the medical library–that she found an accurate diagnosis of endometriosis.

In Ask Me About My Uterus, Norman describes what it was like to have her pain dismissed, to be told it was all in her head, only to be taken seriously when she was accompanied by a boyfriend who confirmed that her sexual performance was, indeed, compromised. Putting her own trials into a broader historical, sociocultural, and political context, Norman shows that women’s bodies have long been the battleground of a never-ending war for power, control, medical knowledge, and truth. It’s time to refute the belief that being a woman is a preexisting condition.
——–

Available March 6, 2018 from Hachette Audio as a digital download, and in Print and Ebook from Nation Books.

Pre-order here:
http://ift.tt/2oswhlF
http://ift.tt/2olovuC
http://ift.tt/2oswiGf

Check out our other great titles and more at:
http://ift.tt/1Evch0I

Follow us at:
twitter.com/HachetteAudio
http://ift.tt/1aFdsMx
http://ift.tt/1mu5mkW
via IFTTT